#NoFun Knee Update

 

Image

At the beginning of September I had a major accident and I was running and blew through a firebowl and I messed up my knee royally.   I have been part of an acting group for 2 years now and I was away with one of their events when this happened.  I was running backwards away from an attacker (in the event).  Many joke that I was more concerned about my costuming than my knee/leg.  I thought at the time I had just hurt it in a small way.  Boy was I wrong!

I went to the hospital that evening after it happened and they stated (at the ER) I had dislocated my knee and required it to be reset.  They made me purchase a Zimmersplint (useless) and sent me on my way with a handful of Tylenol.   I had to work to go into work as I was working on a large event yet they said to take a few days! My clients are awesome.  

I finally saw the sports medicine doctor (referred by my family physician) 10 days after the accident.  She was not convinced the knee was dislocated and gave me the EXCELLENT news I could lose the brace! Best news ever since with the brace I was not able to do anything!! She requested I have an MRI and to follow up in two weeks.

Last Tuesday 31 days into the injury I learned that I have torn or as by her wording “destroyed” my ACL and that I have a fracture in my knee bone and the worst bone bruise she has ever seen! Huzzah that must be some victory somewhere (not on any life bucket list of mine).  

Since hearing the news I have had to:

– Go for physio which I suspect is helping but I have no idea.

– Get fitted for a special brace which should be here any day – Fingers crossed my insurance comes through and covers the majority of it.

– Had to recognize that I can not do everything I had been doing prior to the injury and that I need to take it easy.

– That I have a great circle of friends and family who will be there to help me in any way I need – especially if I have to have surgery (which freaks me out)

I would love to hear your input… Have you had to have ACL surgery or had to rely on others in time of a accident or injury?

Leave a Reply

